Quality or quantity when it comes to social media accounts?

[tweetmeme source ="brooke_nolan"]

I had an interesting discussion with a fellow creative earlier this week, about whether a brand should be utilising all of the social media channels available to them, or focusing on a chosen few.

His thoughts were that as marketers we should utilise every channel available for our clients – even if they don’t seem relevant to their product or service. That way you can continue to engage with the target audience on one or two main platforms, but you also have a presence on others in case they happen to look for you on there.

I suppose there is some truth in what he is saying – after all social networking sites are increasingly being used as search engines – but should this shift in the way networking sites are being used mean that you should compromise a brand’s identity?

For example, should a serious technical brand really have a Facebook or Flickr profile – and does a fashion brand really need a presence on LinkedIn?

I was, and still am, of the stance that you should choose a few key platforms, which reflect the brand’s personality and aims, and do them well. It’s important to explore new trends as they emerge – but these should be analysed to see if they fit into a brand or organisation’s overall marketing strategy.

You shouldn’t just jump on the bandwagon – which would surely result in a poor presence across a whole host of sites instead of a sustained, focused, coherent presence, with quality content, on just a couple.

What do you think is better?  Not having a presence on every platform, and potentially missing engagement if someone only uses that platform? Or using social channels which aren’t quite right for your purposes or brand and which don’t get as much content TLC as others?

Here are some pros and cons of each strategy – I’d love to hear your thoughts.

I’m on every social media site going and its great because:

  • I can be found everywhere
  • I have maximum exposure
  • I can have all of the pretty icons on my website – which makes me look active and current

It sucks because:

  • I find it hard to update all of the sites with fresh content regularly
  • Not all of the platforms suit my brand messages
  • I find it hard to create meaningful connections across all platforms

I am selective with my social media sites and it’s great because:

  • I have a very strong presence on the ones I use
  • My time is spent well – I’m not spread thinly across lots of social networks
  • I am able to build up real repertoire with peers and customers

It sucks because:

  • I may miss customers on other sites
  • I may be too far behind on other platforms when they really gain popularity
  • I am not fully aware of other site’s capabilities and often worry I may be missing out – even if I think on the surface they aren’t suitable, or that I wouldn’t have the right content
2 thoughts on “Quality or quantity when it comes to social media accounts?

  1. Krista says:

    This seems to be a common dilemma for marketers and communicators– do you go all out or do you go smaller with regard to social media?

    I think I am of the same opinion as you, Brooke. I would recommend that marketers use those platforms you know your customers/audience members are using because that will gain maximum exposure for your brand. It’s not to say to ignore all other options, but using a “spaghetti” strategy (throw it all at the wall and see what sticks) isn’t effective either. Very interesting discussion!

    • Brooke_Nolan says:

      Hi Krista – thanks for your comments. I like the term ‘spaghetti’ strategy. It seems to illustrate perfectly the reasons why it’s best to focus your attentions on a few key channels. I suppose in one way using the ‘see what sticks’ approach is going back to the old school method of PR – where you issue something to every publication going in the hope you’ll get something somewhere. Proof again that despite the shift in communication channels the methods (and bad habits) or PR die hard!

Leave a Reply

