The end of PR as we know it?

I was out having dinner with some friends last night, when one of the girls started talking about her job doing Search Engine Optimisation (SEO) and Pay Per Click (PPC). I understand the theory and importance behind both of these, but as for putting it into practice, that’s something I wouldn’t be able to do.

But that’s fine right? As a PRO my role is to manage client’s reputations and promote their brand, not worry about Google rankings.

But is it that simple anymore?

Everyone is talking about the fact that journalism and PR are dead. Now, it’s all about blogging, tweeting, rankings and numerous other ‘ings’ I have probably never even heard of.

Everywhere you look it’s digital and social media, and PROs and agencies are having to embrace these platforms in order to maintain clients.

But with all of these added media channels, the different areas of communication, and the role they play, are becoming increasingly blurred.

For example, there is already much conversation in the blogosphere about who social media should belong to – digital agencies or public relations.

So how long until PROs are expected to be able to deal not just with traditional PR (which, against popular belief is more than just spamming journalists with press releases) and social media, but also with SEO, PPC and web design, social media releases and optimising blog posts, online photos, presentations and You Tube videos.

As I’m writing this I know that it’s something that we should all be doing already – or at least have knowledge of. But sometimes it can feel like an impossible task to keep up – especially for a technophobe like me.

What do you think? Are you focusing on traditional PR and social media, or are you sat there reading ‘Idiots Guide to Web-Related ‘Ings’, awating the day when you’ll need to put them into action?

3 thoughts on “The end of PR as we know it?

  1. Stefan says:

    Hi,
    I think that if you like to write and engage others on subjects of which you have some command or experience, then blogging is a wonderful application with which you can interact with people who share similar interests as you.

  2. Matthew Brown says:

    It can certainly be hard to keep up, especially as web technology advances constantly. During my postgrad journalism course last year the traditional skills vs new media skills debate was raging even between tutors. I think the best approach is to try to keep track of the basics of as many new technologies as possible, whilst taking more time to master those you find most useful. It took me ages to see the use of Twitter, but now that I do I’m glad I stuck with it.

    • brookenolan says:

      I have to admit that I wasn’t convinved about Twitter at first either! It was when I grasped the whole ‘added value’ and ‘link sharing’ that it started to become clear. Thanks for the advice about keeping track of the basics – its a good approach and the ‘useful’ tools will change from person to person. Thanks again for your comments. Brooke

Leave a Reply

