Happy social media day – is anyone else bored?

I may be putting my head slightly above the proverbial parapet here, but I need to get something off my chest.

I am so bored of social media.

Shock! Horror!

Now, I know what you’re thinking.

How can you be bored of social media when you work in PR and communications? Social media is what the industry is all about at the moment.

But seriously, am I the only one who is I’m bored of talking about social media and discussing how great it is and how it has changed the shape of the media landscape forever?

The point is – we know this.

I’ve been feeling like this for a while now but seeing the announcements for today’s social media day, has finally pushed me over the edge and into writing my first ‘rant’ for this blog. (Although in all fairness, after closer inspection,  the idea behind the day and getting people to connect, I actually quite like).

Are you celebrating social media day?

The benefits of social media are huge, and I, more so than many of my colleagues, have embraced it and can see the benefits of it for both personal and professional use.

I have three Twitter accounts and look after the company and clients social media, but, like us all, I am still learning and I’m excited about what the platform of social media will bring to the table over the next few years.

But it’s the incessant talking about it which is driving me mad!

I’ve been to a fair few social media events recently and each time I have walked away with interesting talking points, but ultimately each event is the same – different experts saying the same thing in a slightly different way.

Now that’s not to say they are not useful events but instead of talking about it, surely it’s better to just get on and do it?

I expressed this on LinkedIn once and was quickly shot down and told that you need a ‘strategy’ before ‘just getting on with it.’

Really though?

Perhaps I’m being naïve, but surely just making sure you don’t say anything stupid, that you follow and befriend people who are of interest to your industry, and that you signpost articles and news that are of interest to the types of people you want to follow or befriend you, is strategy enough?

Social media is a slow burn.

It takes a long time to get results and when you do get them its bloody hard to measure the return on investment. I’d rather just get stuck in and get the ball rolling.

Perhaps the reason I’m frustrated is that I like things that are black and white or yes or no and the one thing I have picked up from all this conversation about social media is that there is no yes or no answers.

Leave a Reply

